Lexington 2016

The eighth meeting of the Summer Institute in Economic Geography was hosted by the Department of Geography at the University of Kentucky in Lexington. The meeting was organized by Susan Roberts, Michael Samers, Andrew Wood, Matthew Zook, and Jamie Peck.

The event was supported by:

  • Department of Geography, University of Kentucky
  • Economic Geography/Clark University
  • Economic Geography Research Group, Royal Geographical Society (with the Institute of British Geographers)
  • Economic Geography Specialty Group, Association of American Geographers
  • Sage Publications

Featured speakers

Gavin BridgeGavin Bridge
Professor of Geography, Department of Geography
Durham University, UK


Neil CoeNeil M. Coe
Professor of Economic Geography and Head of Department, Department of Geography
National University of Singapore, Singapore

Beverley MullingsBeverley Mullings
Associate Professor of Geography, Department of Geography
Queen’s University, Canada


Jane PollardJane Pollard
Professor of Economic Geography, Centre for Urban and Regional Development Studies
Newcastle University, UK


  • Shamel Azmeh, LSE, UK
  • Megan Brown, University of Washington, USA
  • Ryan Burns, Temple University, USA
  • Siyu Cai, UCLA, USA
  • Kenneth Cardenas, York University, Canada
  • Jeffrey Carey, Queen’s University, Canada
  • I-Chun Catherine Chang, Macalester College, USA
  • Daniel Cockayne, University of Kentucky, USA
  • Dan Cohen, UBC, Canada
  • Rosemary-Claire Collard, Concordia University, Canada
  • Dylan Connor, UCLA, USA
  • Tara Cookson, Cambridge University, UK
  • Spencer Cox, University of Minnesota
  • Sophie Cranston, Loughborough University
  • Martin Danyluk University of Toronto
  • Fabian Faller Kiel University
  • Chloe Fox University of Toronto
  • Tyler Harlan, UCLA, USA
  • Yui Hashimoto, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA
  • Caitlin Henry University of Toronto, Canada
  • Amy Horton, Queen Mary, University of London, UK
  • Carlo Inverardi Ferri, University of Oxford, UK
  • Mangasini Katundu, Moshi Cooperative University, Tanzania
  • Kelly Kay, LSE, UK
  • Tu Lan, University of New Hampshire, USA
  • Agnieszka Leszczynski, University of Auckland, New Zealand
  • Jessa Loomis, University of Kentucky, USA
  • Erika Machacek, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Felix Claus Müller, Leibniz Institute for Research on Society and Space, Germany
  • Sébastien Rioux, Université de Montréal, Canada
  • Emily Rosenman, UBC, Canada
  • Sarah Ruth Sippel, University of Leipzig, Germany
  • Jeff “Alex” Sphar, Clark University, USA
  • Jannes Tessmann, University of Cologne, Germany
  • Graham Thrower, Newcastle University, UK
  • Jennifer Tucker, University of California, Berkeley, USA
  • Frank van der Wouden, UCLA, USA
  • Jayme Walenta, Texas A&M University, USA
  • Yue Wang, University of Manchester, UK
  • Xu Zhang, Wuhan University of Technology, China