Manchester 2008

The fourth Summer Institute took place at the University of Manchester, hosted by the School of Environment & Development, and was organized by Neil Coe, Kevin Ward, and Jamie Peck.

This event was supported by:

  • Hallsworth Conference Fund, University of Manchester
  • Economic Geography
  • AAG Economic Specialty Group
  • Journal of Economic Geography
  • Singapore Journal of Tropical Geography
  • Worldwide Universities Network

Featured speakers

Harald BartheltHarald Bathelt
Canada Research Chair in Innovation and Governance, Professor of Political Science, University of Toronto, Canada


Sue RobertsSue Roberts
Professor of Geography
University of Kentucky, USA


Jane WillsJane Wills
Professor of Human Geography
Queen Mary, University of London, UK


Henry YeungHenry Wai-chung Yeung
Professor Economic Geography
National University of Singapore, Singapore



  • Anne Bonds, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA
  • Filippo Celata,  University of Rome, Italy
  • Francis Leo Collins, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Roberta Comunian, University of Southampton, UK
  • Kate Driscoll Derickson, Pennsylvania State University, USA
  • Rae Duffy, University of New England, Australia
  • Tim Elrick, University of Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
  • Rikard Eriksson, Umeå University, Sweden
  • Fauziah Che Leh, Education University of Sultan Idris, Malaysia
  • Jayson Funke, Clark University, USA
  • Kate Geddie, University of Toronto, Canada
  • Nick Gill, Lancaster University, UK
  • Mark Graham, University of Kentucky, USA
  • John Harrison, Loughborough University, UK
  • Franz Huber, University of Cambridge, UK
  • Jennifer Johns, University of Liverpool, UK
  • Ozan Karaman, University of Minnesota, USA
  • Sinéad Kelly, National University of Ireland, Ireland
  • György Kukely, University of Budapest, Hungary
  • Josh Lepawsky, Memorial Uniersity of Newfoundland, Canada
  • David Christoffer Lier, University of Manchester, UK
  • Grzegorz Micek, Jagiellonian University, Krakow, Poland
  • Suzanne Mills, Queen’s University, Canada
  • Harvey Neo, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Reecia Orzack, University of Vermont, USA
  • Anouk Patel, Cornell University, USA
  • Vincent Pattison, University of Manchester, UK
  • Marina Prieto-Carrón, University of Portsmouth, UK
  • Russell Prince, University of Bristol, UK
  • Clayton Rosati, Bowling Green State University, USA
  • Ritika Shrimali, Delhi University, India
  • Anders Underthun, Norweigian University of Science and Technology, Norway
  • Barbara Van Dyck, University of Antwerp, Belgium
  • Candice Wallace, University of Kentucky, USA
  • Daniel You-Ren Yang, University of Manchester, UK